

VIA ELECTRONIC FILING

March 25, 2014

Marlene H. Dortch Secretary Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

Re: Modernizing the E-Rate Program for Schools and Libraries, WC Docket No. 13-184

Dear Ms. Dortch:

The Alliance for Excellent Education (Alliance) organized an informational meeting on Wednesday, March 12, 2014 for organizations and parties representing various points of view concerning the E-rate program. The meeting was an opportunity to gain more information on what was requested by the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) on March 6, 2014 in the request for focused comments on modernizing the E-rate program for schools and libraries (WC Docket No. 13-184) and on what Chairman Tom Wheeler called for in his recent public statements concerning the future of E-rate. Staff members from the FCC in attendance at the meeting included Patrick Halley, associate chief, Wireline Competition Bureau; Lisa Hone, deputy chief, telecommunications access policy divisions, Wireline Competition Bureau; and Michael Steffen, director of digital learning, Wireline Competition Bureau.

The meeting focused primarily on educating the attendees on the recent call for focused comments. FCC staff discussed what was contained in the call for focused comments and took questions on the publicly available information and what information was being sought by the Commission. A copy of the agenda and the participant list is attached with this filing. Other than the agenda, participant list, and a copy of the blog on the Public Notice from Wireline Bureau Chief Julie Veach, available at: http://www.fcc.gov/blog/moving-forward-e-rate-modernization-path, there were no other written documents distributed and no formal oral presentations were given by the meeting organizers or attendees other than general introductions and informal comments generated during the question and answer period.

Please direct any further questions about the meeting to the undersigned.

Sincercly,

Phillip Lovell

Vice President for Federal Advocacy



E-rate Update: Supporting broadband access for all students

Wednesday, March 12, 2014 • 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.
Alliance for Excellent Education
1201 Connecticut Avenue, NW, Suite 901
Washington, DC 20036

Agenda

I. Welcome and Introductions

Phillip Lovell

Vice President, Policy and Advocacy, Alliance for Excellent Education

Sara Hall

Vice President, Policy and Advocacy, Alliance for Excellent Education

II. E-rate Update: Federal Communications Commission

Patrick Halley

Associate Chief, Wireline Competition Bureau

Lisa Hone

Deputy Chief, Telecommunications Access Policy Division, Wireline Competition Bureau

Michael Steffen

Director of Digital Learning, Wireline Competition Bureau

III. Discussion

All

IV. Next Steps and Adjourn

Phillip Lovell

Vice President, Policy and Advocacy, Alliance for Excellent Education



E-rate Update March 12, 2014

| Organization | Attendee Name |
|--|---------------------------------|
| Afterschool Alliance | Kamila Thigpen |
| Alliance for Excellent Education | Phillip Lovell, Sara Hall, Chip |
| | Slaven, Terry Schwartzbeck |
| Asian Americans Advancing Justice | Jason Lagria |
| Common Sense Media | Ronnie Cho |
| Consortium for School Networking | Jon Bernstein |
| Consortium for School Networking (CoSN) | Keith Krueger |
| Digilearn | Myra Best; Jim McCleskey |
| Digital Promise | Karen Cator |
| Friday Institute | Mary Ann Wolf |
| International Association for K-12 Online Learning | Maria Worthen |
| LEAD Commission/Aspen Institute | Blair Levin |
| NAACP | Carol Kaplan |
| National Association of Elementary School Principals | Syritha Robinson |
| National Association of Secondary School Principals | Jackie Ball |
| National Association of State Directors of Special Education | Nancy Reder |
| National Consumer Law Center | Olivia Wein |
| National Council of Teachers of English | Danielle Griffin |
| National Education Association | Corey Williams |
| National Governors Association | Stephen Parker |
| National PTA | Renee' Jackson |
| New America Foundation | Sara Morris |
| PARCC | Lesley Muldoon |
| Software & Information Industry Association | Mark Schneiderman |
| State Educational Technology Directors Association | Jennifer Fritschi |
| The Leadership Conference | Corrine Yu |
| | |